More often than not, we would rather use something than know something. We're no longer interested in the essence of things—we don’t care about what makes things what they are. We care more about using things. As long as we’re able to use things, we’re happy. Essential knowledge requires reflection, and studied reflection takes time—it takes time to know what a thing is, and we haven’t the time or attention to spare. Such concerns seem introductory, trivial, far beneath us. Introductory thoughts may tell us what something’s about. But let’s face it: we haven’t the time for introductions. Introductions are for skipping over.
What follows is a lengthy collection of introductions and overviews, spanning the breadth of human knowledge and faculties. These resources offer an essential approach to big ideas, using a variety of perspectives. Admittedly, the list has a number of gaps; it is like a chain, with links and holes from end to end. The hope is that these resources bear the weight of inquiry. Should you find any weak, broken, or missing "links," please let me know.
You'll also find additional tabs for books and current event sources; teachers requested that these be added in support of the courses. And teachers are always in the right, especially when they collaborate w/ their Librarians.
What is knowledge?
Allen, Barry. "Knowledge." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1199-1204. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 13 Jan. 2017.
Hetherington, Stephen. “Knowledge.” Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Accessed 17 January 2017.
"Knowledge." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 277-281. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Code, Lorraine. "Feminist Epistemology and the Politics of Knowledge: Questions of Marginality." The SAGE Handbook of Feminist Theory, edited by Mary Evans, et al., SAGE Reference, 2014, pp. [9]-25. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
Duchesne-Guillemin, Jacques. "Knowledge and Ignorance." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 8, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 5199-5211. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
"Knowledge-Based Systems." Computer Sciences, edited by K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, 2nd ed., vol. 3: Social Applications, Macmillan Reference USA, 2013, pp. 142-144. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
"Knowledge, Diffusion of." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 281-282. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
"Knowledge Society." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 283-286. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
Kuntz, Paul Grimley. "The Quest for Certainty in Belief, Knowledge, Truth." Bertrand Russell, Twayne Publishers, 1986, pp. 11-29. Twayne's English Authors Series 421. Twayne's Authors on GVRL. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
SCARDAMALIA, MARLENE, and CARL BEREITER. "Knowledge Building." Encyclopedia of Education, edited by James W. Guthrie, 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2002, pp. 1370-1373. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
"Secret Knowledge." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 1: Ancient Egypt 2675-332 B.C.E. Gale, 2005, pp. 193-197. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
"Sociology, Knowledge in." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 7, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 674-676. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
"Data." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 234-237. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
Akinrinade, Sola. "Oral Traditions: Overview." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1666-1667. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
Darko, Isaac Nortey. "African Environment, Sustainability, and Indigenous Knowledge." The SAGE Encyclopedia of African Cultural Heritage in North America, edited by Mwalimu J. Shujaa and Kenya J. Shujaa, vol. 1, SAGE Reference, 2015, pp. 68-71. Gale eBooks. Accessed 11 Sept. 2019.
Streng, Frederick J. "Truth." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 14, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 9368-9377. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Tucker, Aviezer. "Consciousness: Overview." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 440-444. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Yusa, Michiko. "Paradox and Riddles." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 10, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 6986-6992. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 3 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is philosophy?
"Philosophy." Gateway to the Great Books, edited by Robert M. Hutchins and Mortimer J. Adler, vol. 1: Introduction, Syntopical Guide, Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1990, pp. 72-88. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
"Philosophy." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 251-254. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
Smith, Justin E. H. "Philosophy, History of." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1783-1786. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
Solomon, Robert C. "Philosophy: Historical Overview and Recent Developments." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1775-1779. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
What is metaphysics?
"Metaphysics." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, p. 1434. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Feb. 2017.
Norris, Richard A. "Ontology." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 10, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 6830-6831. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Feb. 2017.
What is epistemology?
Stevenson, Jay. "Epistemology." Philosophy, 4th ed., Alpha Books, 2014, pp. [17]-27. Idiot's Guides. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 31 Jan. 2017.
"Epistemology." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, p. 687. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
"Epistemology." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 609-611. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Feb. 2017.
Le Roy Finch, Henry. "Epistemology." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 2818-2820. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Feb. 2017.
Steup, Matthias. "Epistemology: Modern." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 692-694. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Feb. 2017.
Bett, Richard. "Epistemology: Ancient." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 687-689. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Feb. 2017.
Merritt, Melissa McBay. "Epistemology: Early Modern." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 689-692. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Feb. 2017.
What is aesthetics?
Martin, James Alfred, Jr. "Aesthetics: Philosophical Aesthetics." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 44-53. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
"Aesthetics." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 29-30. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
"Aesthetics." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, p. 6. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
What is ethics?
Hursthouse, Rosalind. "Virtue Ethics." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2421-2423. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
Frey, R. G. "Utilitarianism." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2401-2403. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
"Philosophy, Moral." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 254-257. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
"Ethics." Bioethics, edited by Bruce Jennings, 4th ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2014, p. 1042. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 3 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Masolo, D. A. "Sage Philosophy." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2167-2172. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
Smith, John E. "Philosophy: Philosophy and Religion." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 10, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 7113-7122. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
Stone, M. W. F. "Philosophy: Relations to other Intellectual Realms." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1779-1783. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Jan. 2017.
Baldwin, Thomas. "Analytical Philosophy." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 63-66. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 31 Jan. 2017.
Mayr, Franz. "Continental Philosophy." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 467-474. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 31 Jan. 2017.
Rouner, Leroy S. "Idealism." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 7, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 4354-4356. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Feb. 2017.
"Morality." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 5, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 283-286. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
Montmarquet, James A. "Good." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 952-955. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
Fenner, David E. W. "Taste." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2291-2295. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
Lorand, Ruth. "Beauty and Ugliness." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 198-205. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
Allen, Douglas. "Phenomenology of Religion." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 10, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 7086-7101. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 2 Mar. 2017.
Solomon, Robert C. "Phenomenology." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1754-1757. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 3 Mar. 2017.
"Of the Standard of Taste." Gateway to the Great Books, edited by Robert M. Hutchins and Mortimer J. Adler, vol. 5: Critical Essays, Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1990, pp. 103-119. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Schmitt, Richard. "Power." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1876-1880. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is history?
ARNOLD, JOHN H. "History." Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire, edited by John Merriman and Jay Winter, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006, pp. 1072-1075. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Breisach, Ernst. "Historiography: An Overview." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 4024-4035. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Kelley, Donald R. "History, Idea of." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1005-1008. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
VANSLEDRIGHT, BRUCE A. "History." Encyclopedia of Education, edited by James W. Guthrie, 2nd ed., vol. 3, Macmillan Reference USA, 2002, pp. 1051-1058. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Casadio, Giovanni. "Historiography: Western Studies [Further Considerations ]." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 4042-4052. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 2 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Farber, Paul. "Natural History." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1598-1601. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
"History, Social." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 3, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 482-485. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Kelley, Donald R. "Cultural History." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 513-516. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Ricoeur, Paul. "Myth: Myth and History." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 9, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 6371-6380. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Hutton, Patrick H. "Presentism." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1896-1899. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
Valliere, Paul. "Tradition." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 13, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 9267-9281. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is art?
"Art." Computer Sciences, edited by K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, 2nd ed., vol. 4: Electronic Universe, Macmillan Reference USA, 2013, pp. 6-10. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
"Art." Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World, edited by Peter Bogucki, vol. 1, Facts on File, 2008, pp. 87-123. Facts on File Library of World History. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Sayre, Henry M. "Arts: Overview." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 136-143. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
SOHM, PHILIP L. "Art Theory, Criticism, and Historiography." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, edited by Jonathan Dewald, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004, pp. 115-121. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Apostolos-Cappadona, Diane. "Humanity in the Arts." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1044-1061. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Apostolos-Cappadona, Diane. "Nude, The." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1649-1655. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Perdew, Laura. "Contemporary Art." A History of Art, Essential Library, 2015, pp. 88-97. Essential Library of Cultural History. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
WALLING, DONOVAN R., and D. JACK DAVIS. "Art Education." Encyclopedia of Education, edited by James W. Guthrie, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2003, pp. 117-123. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Apostolos-Cappadona, Diane. "Art and Religion." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 493-506. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 2 Mar. 2017.
Shaw, Jennifer L. "Symbolism." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2277-2288. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 3 Mar. 2017.
Fenner, David E. W. "Taste." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2291-2295. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is math?
Grattan-Guinness, I. "Mathematics." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1378-1384. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Renneboog, Richard M.J. "Applied Mathematics." Applied Science: Engineering and Mathematics, edited by Donald R. Franceschetti, Salem Press, 2013, pp. 23-30. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Montiel, Mariana. "Mathematics, Theoretical." Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society, edited by Sarah J. Greenwald and Jill E. Thomley, vol. 2, Salem Press, 2012, pp. 613-618. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Boelkins, Matt. "Mathematics, Defined." Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society, edited by Sarah J. Greenwald and Jill E. Thomley, vol. 2, Salem Press, 2012, pp. 608-610. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"On Mathematical Method from An Introduction to Mathematics." Gateway to the Great Books, edited by Robert M. Hutchins and Mortimer J. Adler, vol. 9: Mathematics, Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1990, pp. 51-67. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
"Mathematics and the Metaphysicians." Gateway to the Great Books, edited by Robert M. Hutchins and Mortimer J. Adler, vol. 9: Mathematics, Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1990, pp. 95-110. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Mathematics, in Life and Thought." Gateway to the Great Books, edited by Robert M. Hutchins and Mortimer J. Adler, vol. 9: Mathematics, Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1990, pp. 26-46. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Johnson, Jerry. "Mathematics, Elegant." Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society, edited by Sarah J. Greenwald and Jill E. Thomley, vol. 2, Salem Press, 2012, pp. 610-612. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"The Study of Mathematics." Gateway to the Great Books, edited by Robert M. Hutchins and Mortimer J. Adler, vol. 9: Mathematics, Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1990, pp. 84-94. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Grattan-Guinness, I. "Logic and Philosophy of Mathematics, Modern." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1313-1317. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Mathematical Creation." Gateway to the Great Books, edited by Robert M. Hutchins and Mortimer J. Adler, vol. 9: Mathematics, Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1990, pp. 294-304. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 3 Mar. 2017.
"numbers and counting." Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World, edited by Peter Bogucki, vol. 1, Facts on File, 2008, pp. 797-806. Facts on File Library of World History. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is science?
"Science." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 7, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 357-360. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Munday, Pat. "Science, History of." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2182-2188. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Kragh, Helge. "Science: Overview." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2176-2178. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
"Philosophy of Science." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 259-262. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Humphreys, Paul W. "Science, Philosophy of." Bioethics, edited by Bruce Jennings, 4th ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2014, pp. 2883-2887. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Faivre, Antoine. "Nature: Religious and Philosophical Speculations." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 9, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 6431-6437. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 3 Mar. 2017.
"Social Science." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 7, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 614-618. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Bensaude-Vincent, Bernadette. "Chemistry." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 299-305. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Peters, Ted. "Science and Religion." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 12, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 8180-8192. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
"Forensic Science." The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, edited by K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, 5th ed., vol. 3, Gale, 2014, pp. 1819-1826. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Tybjerg, Karin. "Greek Science." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 955-958. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Weisel, G. J. "Physics." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1809-1821. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Smocovitis, Vassiliki Betty. "Biology." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 220-226. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Smocovitis, Vassiliki Betty. "Evolution." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 750-758. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
"The Scientific Revolution and Philosophical Rationalism." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 5: The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment 1600-1800, Gale, 2005, pp. 288-296. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is psychology?
"Psychology." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 582-586. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
"Psychology: History." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 4, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1479-1486. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
"Psychology: Definition." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 4, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1471-1475. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Braslow, Joel T., and Sarah Linsley Starks. "Psychology and Psychiatry." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1958-1964. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Ferguson, John. "Psychology." Aristotle, Twayne Publishers, 1972, pp. 93-106. Twayne's World Authors Series 211. Twayne's Authors on GVRL. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
"Psychoanalytic Theory." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 576-578. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
Zupko, Jack. "Philosophy of Mind: Ancient and Medieval." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1801-1804. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Epstein, Marc Michael. "Dream." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 593-596. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
"Cognitive Psychology." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 1, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 383-388. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
"Social Psychology." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 7, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 608-611. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is literature?
Saussy, Haun, et al. "Literature: Overview." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1302-1307. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
"Literature." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 462-464. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Shaw, Jennifer L. "Symbolism." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2277-2288. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 3 Mar. 2017.
Hughes, William. "Genre." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 912-918. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Phelan, James. "Narrative." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1569-1572. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
MUNRO, LUCY. "English Literature and Language." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, edited by Jonathan Dewald, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004, pp. 289-296. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Over, Kristen Lee. "Motif in Literature." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1513-1516. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Spillers, Hortense J. "Literary Criticism." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1292-1298. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Newman, Paul. "Literary History." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1298-1302. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Hamilton, John T. "Poetry and Poetics." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1829-1833. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
"Oral Traditions." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, p. 1666. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Mowitt, John. "Text/Textuality." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2303-2308. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is music?
"Music." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 5, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 342-345. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
"Overview of Music." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 5: The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment 1600-1800, Gale, 2005, pp. 211-214. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
APPLEGATE, CELIA. "Music." Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire, edited by John Merriman and Jay Winter, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006, pp. 1565-1573. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
JOHNSON, JAMES. "Music." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, edited by Jonathan Dewald, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004, pp. 223-230. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
"Music Theory." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 2: Ancient Greece and Rome 1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E. Gale, 2005, pp. 219-228. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Turino, Thomas. "Music, Anthropology of." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1524-1530. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
WEBER, WILLIAM. "Music Criticism." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, edited by Jonathan Dewald, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004, pp. 230-231. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
"music and musical instruments." Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World, edited by Pam J. Crabtree, vol. 3, Facts on File, 2008, pp. 743-757. Facts on File Library of World History. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
"Blues and Jazz." The African American Almanac, edited by Christopher A. Brooks, 11th ed., Gale, 2011, pp. 1173-1242. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
McLamore, Alyson. "Motif in Music." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1516-1518. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is film?
"Film History." Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, edited by Barry Keith Grant, vol. 2, Schirmer Reference, 2007, pp. 217-220. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
"Film Studies." Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, edited by Barry Keith Grant, vol. 2, Schirmer Reference, 2007, pp. 235-241. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
"Auteur Theory and Authorship." Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, edited by Barry Keith Grant, vol. 1, Schirmer Reference, 2007, pp. 141-151. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
"Genre." Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, edited by Barry Keith Grant, vol. 2, Schirmer Reference, 2007, pp. 297-308. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Cubitt, Sean. "Cinema." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 327-335. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
"Censorship." Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, edited by Barry Keith Grant, vol. 1, Schirmer Reference, 2007, pp. 237-244. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
"Spectatorship and Audiences." Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, edited by Barry Keith Grant, vol. 4, Schirmer Reference, 2007, pp. 129-133. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
"Documentary." Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, edited by Barry Keith Grant, vol. 2, Schirmer Reference, 2007, pp. 87-99. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
"Art Cinema." Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, edited by Barry Keith Grant, vol. 1, Schirmer Reference, 2007, pp. 115-122. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is theater?
"Theater." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 8, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 336-339. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
"Overview of Theater." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 5: The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment 1600-1800, Gale, 2005, pp. 398-401. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Werry, Margaret. "Theater and Performance." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2317-2319. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Kelly, Henry Ansgar. "Tragedy and Comedy." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2360-2363. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Ferguson, John. "Rhetoric and Poetics." Aristotle, Twayne Publishers, 1972, pp. 150-165. Twayne's World Authors Series 211. Twayne's Authors on GVRL. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
Related concepts & developments:
Schonbein, Whit. "Mental Representation." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2090-2093. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 31 Jan. 2017.
"Conundrum." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, p. 116. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 31 Jan. 2017.
"Paradigm." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 125-127. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 31 Jan. 2017.
GENTNER, DEDRE, et al. "Learning." Encyclopedia of Education, edited by James W. Guthrie, 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2002, pp. 1421-1452. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
"The Process of Thought from How We Think." Gateway to the Great Books, edited by Robert M. Hutchins and Mortimer J. Adler, vol. 10: Philosophical Essays, Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1990, pp. 92-213. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
GOLDING, Clinton. "Philosophical Questions: Their Nature and Function." Philosophical Reflections for Educators, edited by Charlene Tan, Cengage Learning Asia Pte. Ltd., 2008, pp. 193-203. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is interpretation?
Cruz, Jon. "Interpretation." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1137-1142. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
DANIELL, DAVID. "Interpretation." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, edited by Jonathan Dewald, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004, pp. 256-260. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
Harvey, Van A. "Hermeneutics." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 3930-3936. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
Grondin, Jean. "Hermeneutics." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 982-987. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
"Perception, Person." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 205-207. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
"Social Perception." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 5, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1790-1793. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
"Optimism/Pessimism." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 6, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 53-55. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 31 Jan. 2017.
Segal, Robert A. "Myth." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1560-1567. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
"Subjectivity: Analysis." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 8, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 198-199. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Feb. 2017.
Shaw, Jennifer L. "Symbolism." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2277-2288. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 3 Mar. 2017.
Kellner, Douglas. "Critical Theory." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 507-511. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is reason?
COLLINS, STEPHEN L. "Reason." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, edited by Jonathan Dewald, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004, pp. 142-145. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Jan. 2017.
Garver, Eugene. "Reason, Practical and Theoretical." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2020-2023. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Jan. 2017.
Pepin, Jean. "Logos." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 8, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 5500-5506. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 24 Jan. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Baur, Michael. "Idealism." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1078-1082. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 25 Jan. 2017.
Greenberg, Sean. "Rationalism." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2008-2012. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 25 Jan. 2017.
"Rationalism." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 7, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 76-79. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 25 Jan. 2017.
"The Scientific Revolution and Philosophical Rationalism." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 5: The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment 1600-1800, Gale, 2005, pp. 288-296. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 25 Jan. 2017.
Tucker, Aviezer. "Objectivity." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1657-1658. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 25 Jan. 2017.
Noted examples:
What it faith?
"Faith." Miracles: An Encyclopedia of People, Places, and Supernatural Events from Antiquity to the Present, edited by Patrick J. Hayes, ABC-CLIO, 2016, pp. 129-130. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Pelikan, Jaroslav. "Faith." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 5, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 2954-2959. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Bernabeo, Paul. "Apologetics." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan
MacGregor, Geddes. "Doubt and Belief." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 2423-2429. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
"Science, Society, and Faith." American Eras, vol. 7: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1850-1877, Gale, 1997, pp. 334-336. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Wellman, James. "Secularization." Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices, edited by J. Gordon Melton and Martin Baumann, 2nd ed., vol. 6, ABC-CLIO, 2010, pp. 2559-2562. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
"The Ethics of Belief." Gateway to the Great Books, edited by Robert M. Hutchins and Mortimer J. Adler, vol. 10: Philosophical Essays, Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1990, pp. 16-36. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Feb. 2017.
Melton, J. Gordon. "Unbelief." Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices, edited by J. Gordon Melton and Martin Baumann, 2nd ed., vol. 6, ABC-CLIO, 2010, pp. 2937-2944. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Feb. 2017.
Mullen, Patrick B. "Belief, Folk." Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art, edited by Charlie T. McCormick and Kim Kennedy White, 2nd ed., vol. 1, ABC-CLIO, 2011, pp. 206-216. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Feb. 2017.
Green, Ronald M. "Morality and Religion." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 9, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 6177-6189. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
Urban, Hugh B. "Politics and Religion: An Overview." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 11, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 7248-7260. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 2 Mar. 2017.
Laursen, John Christian. "Skepticism." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 5, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2210-2213. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Taves, Ann. "Religious Experience." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 11, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 7736-7750. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 2 Mar. 2017.
King, Winston L. "Religion [First Edition]." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 11, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 7692-7701. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 2 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is sense perception?
Doorey, Marie. "Perception." The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, edited by K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, 5th ed., vol. 6, Gale, 2014, pp. 3285-3289. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
"Sensation and Perception." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 4, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1689-1692. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
"Senses." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 4, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1692-1695. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
"Senses." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 4, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1692-1695. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Feb. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
"Depth and Motion Perception." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 2, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 525-528. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Doorey, Marie. "Depth Perception." The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, edited by K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, 5th ed., vol. 2, Gale, 2014, pp. 1306-1309. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Feb. 2017.
"Empiricism." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 5: The Age of the Baroque and Enlightenment 1600-1800, Gale, 2005, pp. 296-303. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Feb. 2017.
"Memory: Sensory." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 3, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1159-1164. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Feb. 2017.
Beller, Jonathan. "Visual Culture." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2423-2429. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 23 Feb. 2017.
Beller, Jonathan. "Visual Culture." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 2423-2429. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 7 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is language?
Barber, E. J. W. "Language, Linguistics, and Literacy." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1231-1238. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
"Language." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 3, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1051-1057. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Mair, Victor H. "Language and Linguistics." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1223-1231. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Language, Philosophy of." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, p. 1238. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Kelley, Donald R. "Linguistic Turn." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1290-1292. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 31 Jan. 2017.
Wheelock, Wade T. "Language: Sacred Language." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 8, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 5301-5308. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 28 Feb. 2017.
LaPensee, Kenneth Travis, and Sara Louise Miller. "Language Diffusion." Human Geography: People and the Environment, edited by K. Lee Lerner, et al., vol. 1, Gale, 2013, pp. 221-224. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Bell, John Michael. "Language Trees." Human Geography: People and the Environment, edited by K. Lee Lerner, et al., vol. 1, Gale, 2013, pp. 213-216. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
King, William E. "English Language." Dictionary of American History, edited by Stanley I. Kutler, 3rd ed., vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003, pp. 220-222. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Macías, Reynaldo F. "Bilingualism and Multilingualism." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 209-213. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Yusa, Michiko. "Paradox and Riddles." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 10, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 6986-6992. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 3 Mar. 2017.
Barasch, Moshe. "Gesture." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 928-933. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 8 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is memory?
Hutton, Patrick H. "Memory." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 4, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1418-1422. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Memory." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 5, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 74-76. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Reading, Anna. "Making Memory Work for Feminist Theory." The SAGE Handbook of Feminist Theory, edited by Mary Evans, et al., SAGE Reference, 2014, pp. [196]-214. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Memory: Sensory." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 3, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1159-1164. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Memory in Psychology." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 5, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 76-80. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Memory: Physiology." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 3, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1155-1159. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Memory Storage." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 3, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1164-1168. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Wells, Ken R. "Memory Loss." The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, edited by Laurie J. Fundukian, 4th ed., vol. 4, Gale, 2011, pp. 2811-2816. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Memory Disorders." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 3, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 1146-1149. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Collective Memory." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 7-8. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is emotion?
"Emotion." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 569-570. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Solomon, Robert C. "Emotions." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 649-651. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Emotions." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 2, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 655-659. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
"Emotion Regulation." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by William A. Darity, Jr., 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2008, pp. 572-573. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
"Emotional Expression." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, 4th ed., vol. 2, Salem Press, 2015, pp. 650-653. Salem Health. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Zeman, Janice, and Tish Davidson. "Emotional Development." The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence, edited by Jacqueline L. Longe, 2nd ed., vol. 2, Gale, 2011, pp. 823-828. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 1 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is intuition?
Related concepts & developments:
Taves, Ann. "Religious Experience." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 11, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 7736-7750. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 2 Mar. 2017.
Martin, James Alfred, Jr. "Aesthetics: Philosophical Aesthetics." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 44-53. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 2 Mar. 2017.
Grodzins, Dean. "Transcendentalism." Dictionary of American History, edited by Stanley I. Kutler, 3rd ed., vol. 8, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003, pp. 179-181. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 3 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
What is imagination?
Barth, J. Robert. "Imagination." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 1102-1107. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
"Human Imagination." Gateway to the Great Books, edited by Robert M. Hutchins and Mortimer J. Adler, vol. 1: Introduction, Syntopical Guide, Encyclopaedia Britannica, 1990, pp. 20-36. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Related concepts & developments:
Simonton, Dean Keith. "Creativity in the Arts and Sciences." New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005, pp. 493-497. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Tedlock, Barbara. "Dreams." Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Lindsay Jones, 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005, pp. 2482-2491. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Accessed 6 Mar. 2017.
Noted examples:
