LibGuides: Shortcut to Databases & Additional Resources: Getting started ...

Databases (if asked, use campus login)

American Indian Histories and Cultures
Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century
American West
Rare and original documents including printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and more ...
Artstor
two million images from 280 collections support teaching and research in nearly every topic imaginable, including Anthropology, Archaeology, Architecture, Art History, Fashion & Costume, Literature, Religion, Theater, World History.
Britannica Image Quest
Extensive collection of citable images
Britannica Moderna
Articles, multimedia, maps, schedules and more in Spanish
Britannica Online
Encyclopedia
Chilton Library
Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs ...
Culturegrams
CultureGrams fosters an understanding and appreciation of the world's countries and peoples by creating and publishing concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content.
EBSCO Host
Academic journals, eBooks, & news articles ...
Gale Academic OneFile
Complete source for peer-reviewed scholarly articles across all academic disciplines
Gale: Books and Authors
Want to know what to read next? Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics.
Gale Ebooks
GALE Ebooks offer digital nonfiction content to support your research.
Gale Educator's Reference Complete
Academic journals, reports, and reference resources
Gale GREENR
Global reference on environmental issues
Gale Health and Wellness Center
Medical resources
Gale InfoTrac Newsstand
World-wide newspaper database ...
Gale In Context: Biography
Gale In Context: Biography offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure researchers have access to the very latest information.
Gale Interactive Science
Gale Interactive: Science provides engaging, interactive models that bring science to life. Gale Interactive: Science helps students better visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth and space science. Students and instructors can manipulate and explore 3D models that are paired with reference and periodical content for further understanding.
GALE Literary Sources
Literary criticism, reviews, biographies, and primary texts ...
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Pros/cons for important issues
Gale PowerSearch
Various databases w/ optional power search
Gale Science in Context
Reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites
Gale Student Resources in Context
Periodicals, primary sources, clips ...
Gale Test and Career Prep (TERC)
Prep for AP exams, STAAR, or refresh your academic skills with Peterson's test and career prep. *You will need to create your own account.
Gale ¡Informe!
Collection of academic resources in Spanish
LearningExpress
LearningExpress features online tutorials, practice tests, e-books, job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED test prep, and more
maps101
Map-based resources
SIRS Issue Researcher
SIRS Issues Researcher provides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources
Spanish Reference Center
Britannica Enciclopedia Moderna

Search the GHS Library Catalog

Here's a link back to the library catalog, in case you need to find a book.

Local Libraries

Garland Public Library
Portal for Garland library branches
TExShare info
Program information page ...
Sachse Public Library
Sachse's homepage (NOTE: Sachse's TexShare policies are far more open and inviting than any other library in the area--it's worth calling and driving out to Sachse for a TexShare card).
Libraries and Archives
Portal for public, state, and federal libraries and archives ...
WorldCat
The world's largest library catalog; allows users to locate books in distant and local collections ...
SMU
Portal for campus libraries ...
UD
William A. Blakley Library ...
DBU
Vance Memorial Library ...
UTD
Eugene McDermott Library ...
UTA
Portal for campus libraries ...
UNT
Portal for campus libraries ...
TWU
Portal for campus libraries ...
TCU
Mary Couts Burnett Library ...

OCLC

WorldCat
The world's largest library catalog; allows users to locate books in distant and local collections ...

Open access databases and repositories

The Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America provides access to US library, archive, and museum holdings.
Google Scholar
Broad search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources; includes articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites, providing both partial and full-text results (NOTE: GS’ results are no means exhaustive, and their retrieval is far too broad and overwhelming to be helpful—students will do well to use narrow search parameters, though the results will lack the depth of most specialized databases) …
The Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories ...
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals ...
Directory of Open Access Books
The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation, an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague ...
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
BASE is a voluminous search engine for academic, open access resources, operated by Bielefeld University Library ...
PQDT Open
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge ...
OAPEN
Open access, peer-reviewed books, provided by the OAPEN Foundation, a not-for-profit organization based in the Netherlands …
OpenAIRE
Large-scale initiative that aims to promote open scholarship and substantially improve the discoverability and reusability of research publications and data ...
Dryad
Dryad’s vision is to promote a world where research data is openly available, integrated with the scholarly literature, and routinely re-used to create knowledge; their mission is to provide an infrastructure, and to promote the re-use of data underlying scholarly literature …
TROLLing Dataverse
The Tromsø Repository of Language and Linguistics (TROLLing) is an open access archive of linguistic data and statistical code; all postings are accompanied by searchable metadata that identify the researchers, the languages and linguistic phenomena involved, the statistical methods applied, and scholarly publications based on the data (where relevant) …
Index Translationum
The Index Translationum is a list of books translated in the world, i.e. an international bibliography of translations ...
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC) in an effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages …
Open Science Data Cloud
The OSDC is a data science ecosystem in which researchers can house and share their own scientific data, access complementary public datasets, build and share customized virtual machines with whatever tools necessary to analyze their data, and perform the analysis to answer their research questions …
Open Commons Consortium
The Open Commons Consortium (OCC)* is a not for profit that manages and operates cloud computing and data commons infrastructure to support scientific, medical, health care and environmental research ...
ROAD, the Directory of Open Access scholarly Resources
The Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources is an open access extension of UNESCO; ROAD's emphasis is on scientific information (journal articles, conference papers and datasets of various kinds) emanating from publicly funded research ...
DataONE
DataONE is a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data ...
DATAVERSE
Dataverse is an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data ...
figshare
Figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner, allowing dissemination in a way that academic publishing models do not …
The Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity
The Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB) is an international repository intended to facilitate ecological and environmental research ...
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site; provided by the National Library of Medicine …
Social Science Research Network
World wide collaborative of over 308,800 authors and more than 2.2 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research ...
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science ...
Hathi Trust Digital Library
The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the cultural record of human knowledge ...

QR code

Search Term Hints

Think: “What do I need to know more about?” (Look for important terms in your assignment notes) …
Broaden or narrow your search terms as necessary (ex: “Soldiers” vs “American Soldiers” vs “Audie Murphy”) …
Try all possible synonyms and related terms (ex: “President,” “American,” and “Commander-in-Chief” … Consider using an “Advanced Search”) …
Include both singular and plural uses of the term (ex: “wife” & “wives”) …
Look for better search terms in the resources you discover …
As you go, keep track of the terms you’ve used, and the results you’ve found (i.e. take notes) …

Thinking through the research process ...

"What do I need?"

"What do I need to find?"
"What do I need to read?"
"What do I need to understand?"

"Where can I find it?"

"Where can I search?"
"Where can I look?"
"Where can I ... get help?"

"How can I use it?"

"How can I read it?"
"How can I take notes?"
"How can I share?"

Citation Resources

The OWL at Purdue
Outlines each of the major citation styles, complete w/ examples ...

Creative Resources

Graphite.org
Current collection of prominently used collaboration/presentation tools; all-inclusive, user-rated, and searchable by need and audience ...
Creativecommons.org
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools ...
soundzabound
Royalty-free music for schools ...

Contact info: pkportel@garlandisd.net

Paige Portele