LibGuides: Day of the Dead Assignment: Places to Search

Databases (if asked, use campus login)

Gale Student Resources in Context
Periodicals, primary sources, clips ...
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Various encyclopedias & specialized reference sources ...
Britannica Online
Encyclopedia ...
Britannica Image Quest
Extensive collection of citable images ...
Gale ¡Informe!
Collection of academic resources in Spanish ...
CultureGrams
Current info on cultures around the world ...
Gale InfoTrac Newsstand
World-wide newspaper database ...
Spanish Reference Center
Britannica Enciclopedia Moderna ...

Son of Citation Machine
Citation generator ... Be advised: these citations are often incomplete, and/or formatted incorrectly ...
The OWL at Purdue
Outlines each of the major citation styles, complete w/ examples ...

Graphite.org
Current collection of prominently used collaboration/presentation tools; all-inclusive, user-rated, and searchable by need and audience ...
Creativecommons.org
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools ...

Think: “What do I need to know more about?” (Look for important terms in your assignment notes) …
Broaden or narrow your search terms as necessary (ex: “Soldiers” vs “American Soldiers” vs “Audie Murphy”) …
Try all possible synonyms and related terms (ex: “President,” “American,” and “Commander-in-Chief” … Consider using an “Advanced Search”) …
Include both singular and plural uses of the term (ex: “wife” & “wives”) …
Look for better search terms in the resources you discover …
As you go, keep track of the terms you’ve used, and the results you’ve found (i.e. take notes) …

WorldCat
The world's largest library catalog; allows users to locate books in distant and local collections ...