LibGuides: French Resource Guide: Places to Search

Places to Search (if required, use database login)

EBSCO Host
Academic journals & news articles; a good, general database, w/ an extensive collection (refine using the left side of the page) ... Can be searched in English/French, and then refined by language on the left--for the best results, search in French ...
Gale General OneFile
Broad resource; for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest/academic topics (refine using tools on right side of the page) ... For French articles, search using French topics/terms ...
Gale InfoTrac Newsstand
Current, world-wide newspaper database ... For French articles, search the collection using French topics/terms ... For French publications, view listed publications and limit titles to French ...
CultureGrams
Current info on cultures around the world ... Good source for French and Francophone background info, albeit in English ...
Britannica Image Quest
Extensive collection of citable images--good source for presentation pictures; searchable in English ...
Google Advanced Search
Allows users to narrow open-web searches, using search limiters and language ... Limit and search in French ...

Think: “What do I need to know more about?” (Look for important terms in your assignment notes) …
Broaden or narrow your search terms as necessary (ex: “Soldiers” vs “American Soldiers” vs “Audie Murphy”) …
Try all possible synonyms and related terms (ex: “President,” “American,” and “Commander-in-Chief” … Consider using an “Advanced Search”) …
Include both singular and plural uses of the term (ex: “wife” & “wives”) …
Look for better search terms in the resources you discover …
As you go, keep track of the terms you’ve used, and the results you’ve found (i.e. take notes) …

WorldCat
The world's largest library catalog; allows users to locate books in distant and local collections ...

Son of Citation Machine
Citation generator ... Be advised: these citations are often incomplete, and/or formatted incorrectly ...
The OWL at Purdue
Outlines each of the major citation styles, complete w/ examples ...

Graphite.org
Current collection of prominently used collaboration/presentation tools; all-inclusive, user-rated, and searchable by need and audience ...
Creativecommons.org
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools ...